Life as an Expat Wife

It’s been fun five months since I’ve been a “housewife.” Tis been eventful, and I give props to all the housewives out there because being a housewife aint easy. Well I guess it is, if you don’t have kids, but it really isn’t at the same time if you aren’t the type to just let the time pass by. 

I’ve always been ambitious, so I love to learn new hobbies or spend time developing existing/new skills. I thought it’d be an awesome life for me as a housewife in Singapore- I can travel around the city, learn new languages and hobbies, meet new friends, and learn to cook foods other than Korean and American (I love to cook). I’d have a cleaner who does all the house chores and cleans up after us (we both suck at cleaning). Though I’m a picky shopper and don’t enjoy shopping much in general, I now have $__ of money I can spend freely from my husband’s income and our savings.

Since arriving in Singapore, while my hubby’s at work, I:

-took cooking classes in Singaporean/Malaysian/Thai food
-Brushed up on my Japanese having private Japanese conversation lessons twice a week
-Started learning Mandarin at a good Chinese institution in City Hall- intensive course
-Private tutored Korean Ajummas (married ladies) English few times a week, making extra pocket money
-Made a lot of great friends this way, and through my hubby’s networks
-Took photography classes with my Canon 5DIII
-Took public speech classes with my hubby bc we both suck.

learning how to make pweety flower bouquet

learning how to make pweety flower bouquet

It was all fun and great, but as months went by I started to feel I was falling behind. It’s the feeling one would have when all his friends are getting job offers fresh out of college, but he is still finishing up the last remainder of his required courses. The feeling one would get when everyone around him seems to be advancing further up and making great contributions to society (though, not really, but the unemployed think that), and he’s just home like a spoiled child wasting his talent away.

It’s not great.

I started to admire girls I’d meet here talking about their work life at a prestigious company, and the stories of early 20s woman in Korean dramas working toward their dream job/goal. I love and admire the passion and dreams/goals that some young people have. I sound like a 40 year old woman looking back, but really, five months was a long enough time for me to want to start building my resume and career again.  I’d probably rest for few months/years if I have a kid (not on our plans anytime soon), but I feel it’s important to build my resume now, so that I have a good career to return to once my child is old enough to go to school. note: Not to say girls who stay home and never work are making bad choices. Everyone has different preferences and both of my husband’s and my mom have never worked once in their lives.

Anyway, bottom line. I have a job! Life of a working expat post to come in few months. 🙂

Here are some pictures I took at my night photography class:

1. View of Marina Bay Sands @ Gardens by the Bay “Light Show”

285A4869 285A4855 285A4860285A4877

2. Bridge link to Marina Bay Sands

285A4882 285A4878

3. Letters I created “LOVE” through long exposure

285A4916 285A4917

4. View from our condo balcony.

285A4938 285A4936 285A4935 285A4933 285A4931 285A4930

4 thoughts on “Life as an Expat Wife

  1. pollyheath says:

    Ummm. That view is outrageous! (Also, congrats on the job. It’s harder than one would think to fill the time otherwise.)

  2. Haein says:

    Hey Angie!
    Came across your blog whilst researching korean wedding invitations – have found your wedding posts rather helpful! I’ve got my wedding coming up and I’ve been a little slack on the organising front..
    I’m Korean/Australian, and moved to Singapore about 4 months ago with my fiance. We should share notes! Feel free to drop me an email.

Leave a comment